

# Association Croquet Tasmanian Championships

AC Championship Open Singles Croquet Tasmania Trophy (Salver) Winner: Runner-up :

AC Women's Championship Open Singles Claire Bamford Trophy (*Candle Sticks*) Winner: Runner-up :

AC Men's Championship Open Singles D. M. Wettenhall Trophy (*Tankard*) Winner : Runner-up :

AC Championship\_Singles Bisque 5-20 Alan Graham Trophy (*Silver Jug*) Winner : Runner-up :

AC Championship\_Singles Bisque 9-20 Daphne Cannon Trophy (Wooden with Medallion) Winner : Runner-up:

AC Championship Singles Bisque 16-20 Alison Swalwell Trophy (*Tea Pot*) Winner : Runner-up :

AC Open Handicap\_Singles Knockout T.C.A Barbara Briggs Trophy (Vase) Winner not played 2018 Runner-up .

# Prizewinners 2019-20

AC Championship Open Doubles H.J. and E.E. Read (Silver Salvers) Winners : Runners-up :

AC Championship Doubles\_Bisque 9 to 20 Winners Runners-up AC Championship Doubles Bisque 16-20

AC All Grades Doubles Handicap (Hi-Lo) Betty Henry Memorial (*Silver Salvers*) Winners : Liz Smith & David Higgs Runners-up: Henry Burbury & John Lee- Archer

AC Tasmanian Classic Winner : Runner-Up: 3<sup>rd</sup>: Plate:

# **MEDALS** Association Croquet

TCA Women's Medal Insufficient entrants

TCA Men's Medal :Peter Ross Runner-Up: Ian Bassett

TCA Gold Medal : Ian Bassett Runner-up: Peter Ross TCA Silver Medal : Noel Davies Runner-up : John Hutchison TCA Bronze Medal: David Higgs Runner-up : Colin Harwood

ACA Bronze Medal Runner up



# Golf Croquet Tasmanian Championships

GC Singles Championship Division 1 Graham Family F. (*Silver Cup*) Winner: Rob McAdam Runner-up: Ruth McKean

GC Singles Championship Division 2 (Silver Bowl) Winner: Alan Broom Runner-up: Curtis Mead

GC Singles Championship Division 3 Winner: Tony Walker Runner-up: Gaylene Broom

GC Singles Championship U14 Winner: Runner-up

GC Singles Championship U21 Postponed from 18-19 event Winner: Curtis Mead

#### GC Women's Singles Championship TCA Trophy (*Silver Cake Stand*) Winner: Runner-up:

GC Men's Singles Championship TCA Trophy (*Silver Bowl*) Winner: Runner-up:

GC Open Handicap\_Singles Knockout Winner Not played 2018 Runner-up .

GC Doubles (Shield: donated by J.Pongratz, B. Godfrey & P.Paine) Winners: Tim Parker & Rob McAdam Runners-up: Leigh Herington & Ian Bassett

# Prizewinners 2019-20

GC Mixed Doubles (New Event) Winners: Lizzie & Ian Bassett Runners-up : Heather Thurstans & Bob Bye

GC Hi-Lo Handicap Doubles Winners:

**Runners-up** 

GC Tasmanian Classic (Teams) Winners: Team of : Ruth Mc Kean, Stewart von See (North Esk club), Phil Roach, Di Hollier, Avner Misrachi, (Kingston club), Glenys Lee-Archer (Devonport Club)

GC Selectors' 8 Winner Runner Up

# **GOLF CROQUET MEDALS**

TCA Golf Croquet Gold: Winner: Tim Parker Runner Up: John Colquhoun

Silver: Winner: Patsy Paine Runner Up : Carol Hanigan

Bronze: Winner: Russell Brown Runner Up: Toni Davidson

ACA Bronze Medal Winner Runner Up



# Pennants, Fun and Local Events

**GOLF CROQUET PENNANT** 

Division 1 Division 2 Division 3 Division 4

**ASSOCIATION PENNANT** 

Division A Division B Division C Shield – Perpetual Trophy

NRCC PENNANTS GC Summer A, B & C Grade Results not provided

**NORTH-SOUTH CHALLENGE** GC & AC Team Event - Not yet played (played in May after Croquet Tasmania AGM) AC Ted Nicholas (New Town CC) Winner: Runner-up:

AC Wheeler Doubles (Eastern Shore CC) *not yet played* 

AC Full Bisques (Eastern Shore CC) Barry Hamilton Perpetual Silver Platter Winner: Second:

AC Southern Winter Weekly Series Winner: Second :

GC 19 Hoop MCMF (Kingston CC) Winner: Runner-up:

Tas Finalists:

Plate: Runner-up:

Director's Cup GC Not yet played Runner up Not yet played



# NRCC RESULTS ASSOCIATION CROQUET

#### Individual Championships:

Information not available

**Pennants:** 

Div 1 A+B .

Div 2 B+C .

# **GOLF CROQUET**

**Singles Championships:** 

A Grade (Open) not yet played Runner up . B Grade not yet played Runner up . Novice not yet played Runner up .

Doubles: OPEN Winners – Runners-up

**B** Grade Winners –

**Runners-up** 

NRCC Golf Croquet Hi Lo Winners: Runners-up:



# Some of the TROPHIES and DONORS

## **Southern Association Croquet Pennants**

T.C.A. Perpetual Trophy – donated by Mrs. K. Ikin, Mr. D. Ikin and Max Wright who crafted it.

Kay Ikin was a foundation member of the Eastern Shore Club. Her husband Daryl Ikin and Max Wright subsequently joined the Club soon after. Max and Daryl won TCA doubles titles and both represented the Club in Division 1 in this Pennant for which they donated the perpetual shield in the 1980's.

## AC Open Singles Championship of Tasmania TCA Trophy

This trophy was donated by the TCA IN 1976, the first winner being Rodney Triffit of the Glenorchy Club .

#### AC Open Singles Championship "Y" Event (Plate) Gary Fox Trophy

Gary Fox (2006 ACA President) and former TCA President donated this trophy a few years ago when he introduced the "Y "event as part of the revised format of the Tasmanian Championships

### AC Doubles Championship of Tasmania H.J. and E.E. Read Silver Salvers

Jack and Elsie were founding members of the Glenorchy Club and donated this trophy in 1983.Jack was an outstanding player winning the Tasmanian Open singles in 1978 and 1980 and representing Tasmania on many occasions. Jack was also TCA President during the 1980's

#### AC Women's Championship of Tasmania Claire Bamford Trophy

Claire Bamford and her husband Bob donated this trophy when Claire first won the Ladies Championship in the 1989 Croquet season . Claire went on to win this event another four times. Subsequently, she also captained the Tasmanian Eire Cup Team for many years and is a life member of the Kingston Croquet Club

#### **AC Singles Handicap of Tasmania**

**Barbara Briggs Trophy** 

This trophy was donated by the TCA in 2003 in honour of Barbara's role as secretary of the TCA over many years. Barbara is a life member of the Kingston Club and later joined the Sandy Bay Club when she moved to that suburb.

#### AC Men's Championship of Tasmania

## **D. M. Wettenhall Trophy**



This trophy was donated by Dorothy Wettenhall, a former President of the TCA and member of the State Team. Dorothy was State Director of Coaching.



### AC B grade Singles

# Alan Graham Trophy

Alan was a Division 2 Player from New South Wales who was visiting the State and competed in this event. He decided to donate this perpetual trophy during the 1980's.

## AC Singles Championship 10-24

# **Daphne Cannon Trophy**

Daphne was a former TCA President, Examining referee and was a founding member of the Eastern Shore Club. She began her croquet at the Sandy Bay Club in 1964. She donated this perpetual trophy in 1984 following her term as President

## AC Singles Handicap 10-17

# Kevin Clarke Memorial Trophy

Kevin was a great stalwart of the Glenorchy and subsequently New Town Clubs. Upon his untimely death his wife Deane donated this shield for this event in 2004.

# AC Singles Championship 18 – 20

## **Alison Swalwell Trophy**

Alison was a former TCA President and also President of the Sandy Bay Club for many years. Alison represented Tasmania many times as TCA delegate to the ACA and for many years she was a member of the TCA Planning and Development Committee. She donated this trophy in 1990 and the first winner was Ted Delahunty of the Kingston Club

## AC All Divisions Doubles Handicap Betty Henry Memorial Trophies

Betty Henry played her croquet at New Town and was also a member of the TCA Executive in the 1980's. The trophies were donated in 1991

## **Golf Croquet Championship**

## **GFF Trophy**

Graham Family Funerals donated this perpetual trophy in 2009

# **Golf Croquet Handicap**

This trophy was donated by Croquet Tasmania

# **Golf Croquet Handicap Doubles**

This shield was donated by June Pongratz and Bob Godfrey (the initial winners) and by Patsy Paine in 2013

