A group of 25 from Reclink visited the Northern Tasmanian Croquet Centre.

It was fun and for all a learning curve as very little English was spoken.They all left knowing  colours blue,red ,black and yellow. It was a very enjoyable time for all and promises of “we will be back”

Lee Turner

From Lee Turner,
Promotions Northern Tasmanian Croquet Centre Committee
Director Golf Croquet North

Credit to all entrants who played in heavy rain at the start of the HiLo Golf Croquet tournament at the Northern Tasmanian Croquet Centre at the weekend.
They were rewarded with ideal conditions for the finals on Sunday.

Close games were played in both blocks.
A Block  resulted in Paul Boer and Robin Claxton with 5 wins defeating  Rod Tait and Terry Jucket with 4 wins.
In B Block  Lynn Farrell and Stewart von See had 4 wins and Paul Richards and Paul Godard also scored 4 wins .
In the Quarter finals Paul Boer and Robin Claxton defeated Grant Wilson and Lainie Duggan 7/4. Joan Williams and Frank Sheehan lost to Paul Richards and Paul Goddard 3/7. Rod Tait and Terry Jucket  won over Christine Russell and Peter Keam 7/5. Pauline Blyth and Barbara  Hogben narrowly  defeated Lynn Farrell and Stewart von See 7/6.
The semis then saw Richards and Godard easily  win from Boer and Claxton 7/2 but Tait and Jucket had a close game against Hogben and Blyth7/6.

The final was played over 3 exciting games with an overall win to Tait and Jucket from Richards and Goddard 7/6 6/7 7/6.

The HiLo is an event where high handicap players have a mentor with a lower handicap. Organizers were very pleased with the response from those who participated and the high standard of games.

The next event on the Northern croquet calendar is the Northern Golf Croquet Singles event held on the 19/20th October entries close the 12th October  The annual novice event will be played on the 8th October . Pennants have started with wins to East Launceston, North Esk and Royal Park.


Div 1   Winner - Ruth McKean,    R/U Paul Richards

Div 2    Winner John Lee-Archer  R/U Stewart von See

Div 3     Winner Paul Godard        R/U Robin O’Reilly

From Lee turner:
Round Robin Events were played in the 3 Divisions and exciting close finishes were seen in all events.
Ruth McKean North Esk won the Division 1 event with 3 matches 7 wins followed by Paul Richards East Launceston  with 2 matches 5 wins and Rod Tait North Esk 2 matches 5 wins and a 1 hoop difference. All matches in this division were very close.
In the Division 2 John Lee Archer Of Devonport club with 5 wins defeated Stewart von See North Esk Club with 4 wins closely followed by Paul Boer East Launceston  4 wins also but a 5 hoop difference.
Paul Goddard of East Launceston   played extremely well to win Division 3 losing only I game with Robin O’Reilly and Glenys Lee Archer both of the Devonport club with 3 wins. Glenys missing out on runner up by 1 hoop. The results relied on final games which proved very close and exciting for the eventual winners.

The Northern Tasmanian Croquet Centre committee received a new mower from funding received from the from Tasmanian Community Fund. Paul Boer lawn manager is pictured with members of clubs and community at the handing over the mower.

Golf Croquet events in the North in the near future are the Northern Hi/lo on the 27/28/29/ September. The Northern Golf Croquet Pennants starting on the 30th September with 5 teams in the Open and B grade and 4 in the C grade.

Lee Turner Golf Croquet North

NRCC GC HiLo Handicap Doubles Sept 28-29 at the Northern Tasmania Croquet Centre.


Awaiting results



Congratulations to the winners at the multi event at the Northern Centre.

(and to the competitors who had VERY cold and foggy starts each day)

The winner of GC Tas ACA Bronze Medal  was John Colquhoun of Eastern Shore who will compete for the Australian GC Gold Medal at Cairnlea Victoria in September.

The runner-up was  Graham Keating of Sandy Bay

The winner of the GC Selectors' 8 was Rod Tait of St. Leonards with runner-up Patsy Paine on a count-back from June Pongratz of New Town

The selectors then selected the following GC Team to compete for the Interstate Shield at Cairnlea in September.

Women: Ruth McKean, Yvonne Shaw, Kaye Denny, Patsy Paine,  Gina Kirkland
and  June Pongratz (non travelling reserve).

Men: Graham Keating, John Colquhoun, Phil Roach, Hugh Denny, Brian Rubock
and    Grant Willson (non travelling reserve)

See all the results on Croquetscores

Bronze Medal:   Results

Selectors' 8  :    Results


Copyright. Croquet Tasmania. 2020